Home PageAbout SCCContact UsAcademicsStudent ServicesSCC FoundationCollege ServicesContinuing EducationJob OpportunitiesDistance LearningSampson Early College
SCC Home
Continuing Education
Continuing Education
Con Ed Staff
Butler Basic Skills
Community Services
Defensive Driving Program
CustomizedTraining
Law Enforcement, Fire, Emergency Responder Training
Occupational Extension
CareerReadiness
Small Business Center
HRD
Medical
TruckDrivingTraining
Compensatory Education

Schedule of 4 Hour Defensive Driving Classes

Schedule of 8 Hour Defensive Driving Classes

Defensive Driving Program

If you have been charged with a minor traffic violation, the Defensive Driving Class may prevent assessment of insurance points or premium surcharges on your insurance policy and/or points on your North Carolina driver’s license. The District Attorney, area community college, and the Safety and Health Council of North Carolina make this program available. To receive these benefits you must

Complete the 4-Hour Defensive Driving Course at least 3 WORKING DAYS BEFORE your continued court date.  This course allows a reduction to improper equipment.

Please read the NOT ELIGIBLE section before you sign up for a class!

Benefits

  • No insurance points
  • No driver's license points.
  • No court appearance (if course completed 3 days before court date)
  • To receive these benefits you must complete 4-hour Defensive Driving course at least three working days before your continued court date.
  • Courses offered in both English and Spanish.

Eligibility

Driving Citations

  • Driving left of center-20-146
  • Exceeding a safe speed-20-141
  • Failing to reduce speed-20-141
  • Failing to yield-10-155 & 10-158.1
  • Following too closely-20-152
  • Improper passing-20-150
  • Stop sign violation-20-158
  • Unsafe movement-20-154

Speeding Citations

  • Speed zone 65 mph or less (up to 20 mph over limit)-20-141
  • Speed zone 70 or more (up to 15 mph over limit)-10-141

Not Eligible

You are not eligible for the program if the following conditions are true:

  • Court date has passed
  • Charged with speeding in a work or school zone.
  • Completed a program within the last three years.
  • If you have already paid your ticket fees at the course house.

CLASS COST = $50
TRAFFIC TICKET COST = $263
All fees are paid in class the day you attend.

New Class for Drivers Ages 16 to 19

ALIVE@25

Drivers between the ages of 16 and 19 who have received a motor vehicle violation are required to attend this highly-interactive defensive driving program. Our goal is to reduce the number of teenage driving-related accidents and deaths.

ALIVE@25

CLASS COST = $50

TRAFFIC TICKET COST $263

All fees are paid in class the day you attend.

 

Depending upon the violation, this course may allow a reduction to improper equipment. Call for more information.


Contact Information
For additional information
Contact Aleta Whaley
(910) 592-7176 ext 4013



Home | About SCC | Contact Us | Academics | Student Services | SCC Foundation
College Services | Continuing Education | Job Openings | Distance Learning | Early College

@ Copyright 2012. All rights reserved. Sampson Commmunity College.